Wonder Drugs: Caffeine and Ibuprofen

The fuzzbucket. My snuffleupagus, Dante.

Ordinarily when I take my dog with me on walks, he takes barely a passing interest at other dogs that are outside in their yards on the other side of the street.   He’ll bark and get excited if a dog is on the same side of the street he is on usually only if that dog charges the fence, but if the dog ignores him or is inside, Dante doesn’t think much of it.

A few days ago, though, I went walking with the dog and the kidlet.  Dante and I were walking on one side of the street and my daughter was on the other side on her bike.  Apparently a St. Bernard was in the yard nearest her, minding his own business on his own side of the fence.  Dante decided this was way too close to our little girl and he went nuts!  He nearly yanked the leash away from me before I managed to grab hold of him.  He was barking at this other dog like some mad, foaming-at-the-mouth Cujo critter, and it took all of my strength to drag him on up the street.

This little stunt tweaked my back.  It hurt some that day, but I was coping fine.  However, over the last couple of days, it has gotten worse and worse, to the point I wondered if I slipped a disc.  I took ibuprofen now and then when it was bothering me most, but I took the standard two tabs.  Last night, it hurt so darn bad, I took four tablets, which is the prescription strength–800 mg.  Just lying down caused jabs of pain and it hurt to move.  Woe be unto me if I coughed, even!  I was miserable!

My friend.

Ibuprofen is my friend.  It’s a bit high in sodium, which I’m trying to cut down on.   And I know that too much of “vitamin I” is bad for my liver or some junk (I joke–I am aware of the side effects), but it is still my friend.

This morning, I woke up feeling a lot better.  Those ibuprofen seriously did the trick.  They are anti-inflammatories, so I imagine that must have helped.  When it started hurting again, I took another four tablets.  I’ve had the occasional jab of pain from making too quick of a movement since then, but overall it hasn’t been so bad.  I know the bottle recommends not taking more than 6 tabs in a day unless recommended by a doctor, but I’ve read that doctors will allow up to 3200 mg a day (though they don’t recommend that for long periods–it is horrible for your liver).  So I don’t intend to use that much and I don’t intend to use it for very long.

When I was walking on my trip in 2009, I would get about 2/3 of the way through my day and I would be hurting and energy would be lagging.  Then I discovered the energy drink Viso.

Viso is awsome! (from http://www.drinkviso.com/nutrition)

I’m not a huge caffeine drinker, since I don’t drink coffee and rarely drink tea, so a little bit goes a long way.  I would pop a couple of ibuprofen for the pain, drink down a few swallows of the drink (and since it was a screw cap bottle back then, I could save the rest for another day), eat a little snack and I would get a nice zing of pep and my pain would level would go down and I could fly the last leg of my day.  I didn’t do this every day, of course.  Just days where I was having a really hard time.  Some days are like that.

(As an aside, I’m disappointed Viso went to aluminum can packaging.  I liked the screw cap bottles.  When I was finished with the energy drink, I would fill them with water and use them for water bottles.  But, I am pleased to know that Viso was founded in Portland, Oregon, my home town, and is manufactured here!)

At any rate, I’m hoping the ibuprofen will save me once again.  If not, I may actually need to go to a doctor.  Groan.  *picturing money growing wings and flying out of my wallet, and crickets chirping at the emptiness left behind*

4 thoughts on “Wonder Drugs: Caffeine and Ibuprofen

  1. Hiya, Jim! Sorry your comment took so long to get posted. Somehow akismet thought it was spam. Good thing I checked my spam comments!

    I have seen various electrolyte replacement powdered drinks (Gatorade, Powerade, etc.), but I hadn’t seen any energy drinks. This is fabulous! I can’t stand the flavor of orange tang, so I would probably try the berry flavor. Thanks for the tip! I’ll see if I can find it in my local grocery.

  2. Thank you for visiting my blog today. I appreciate the time you took to stop by. May your day be filled with joy and peace.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

Leave a Reply

