April 1st & Plan B

This is me, if I were a dude with blond hair.

I am mildly amused by my rapidly approaching April 1st deadline to leave.   I had originally chosen that date because the 1st fell on a weekend and because April 1st is April Fool’s Day.  I thought it would be a funny day, because only fools would take on a walk as big as America, right?  Turns out the April Fool’s joke is on me, because it’s looking like I don’t get to go just yet.

In fact, I think it’s safe to say I’m not leaving April 1st.  It turns out we’re moving.   It is unexpected, and we’ll be moving into even more cramped quarters, but we’ll be saving some money on rent, so that’s good.  Also, I like the neighborhood we’ll be moving to much better than the one we’re in, so that’s a good thing, too.

All during the month of April, I will be running around like a chicken with my head cut off organizing, cleaning, donating stuff to Salvation Army, more organizing, more cleaning, and having a mega moving sale.

Time to clean out all those closets of all that junk!  This will be nice in that I’ll be able to raise some money for my trip.  But I’m pretty sure that I could sell every piece of unwanted piece of whatever that I have collected over the years and not get more than a few hundred bucks, if I’m lucky.  Which won’t be enough to fund my trip.  Of course, that’ not counting selling the bigger ticket items, so I’m crossing my fingers for that I’ll actually get to sell them and make a decent amount off of them and fund my trip.

A stampede of people wanting to give me money would be most welcome.

Oh, and I do have a secret weapon.  Well, it won’t be a secret anymore once I say what it is.  But I’m nice, so I’ll share that secret weapon with you anyway.  The last time I put on a yard sale, I sold drinks, my ultra-yummy famous cookies, and sandwich wraps to my hungry shoppers and actually made more money off  of that than I did off of my stuff.  So you can bet I’m peddling the good food.  Who knew rummage sale folks could get so hungry?

I’m actually looking forward to this process.  It will seriously de-clutter my life and force me to get more organized.  Also, I think it will give me an opportunity to work on Plan B.

Is it time for Plan B? Time will tell.

What is Plan B?  Well, I’m still working on that.  But I think it will involve borrowing Matt Green’s idea of walking around New York.  I seriously want to walk across America.  That will involve approximately 3100 miles of walking.  So, if I’m stuck at home, I figure I will walk 3100 miles around the Portland, Oregon area over the course of this year while I continue to fundraise for next year.

There are a lot of pluses to be said for doing this.  I can keep an eye on my daughter, who is changing schools and school districts due to the move.  I’ll be there every night to give her support if she’s having difficulty.  I will be able to keep better tabs on my husband’s health while we re-discover together our compassion and love toward each other and try to find  healthier ways to navigate his kidney disease.  My husband has the goal of being ready for a kidney transplant within one year (and then getting one within two years after that–but he can’t control that part–that all has to do with the waiting list).  If I’m home, we can work together to make that happen.  Also, walking 3100 miles locally before I go walk 3100 miles across the continent means I’ll be physically in shape to do it, no problem.  While I’m walking around Portland, if I should have some sort of injury, I will be close to doctors that can take care of me and monitor me.  I’ll get extra time for planning and organizing my trip, which will be helpful, now that I’ve figured out a cause I’d like to support.  I want to do some speaking engagements, something I hadn’t planned on at all before.

There is one big negative, though.  I won’t be walking America until next year, if I do Plan B.  And that will frustrate the heck out of me.  I hate waiting.  I am an impatient person, by nature.  I have to work hard at patience.  I’m the type of person that once I decide I want to do something, I just want to get to it already!  So I’m still keeping my fingers crossed and trying to sell my truck.  We’ll see what happens.

9 thoughts on “April 1st & Plan B

  1. I forgot to mention that you will be having people give you money as you go. Youd be surprised at how generous the can be. I had a guy, in California, just stop one day and hand me 60 bucks for the hell of it. That happened a lot.

    • I agree. People’s generosity is incredible. However, I don’t want to completely count on it. The moment I do, I’ll be stuck in the middle of nowhere, out of food and I won’t see a soul for three days. Murphy’s Law, yanno. I want to be better prepared than that.

  2. Holly, I know what you mean about being impatient–once I decide to do something, I want to do it: NOW. So I am totally empathetic of this for you. However, if plan B has to happen, you will be better prepared for your walk and therefore, more likely to make it a successful walk. Plus, since you have a cause to support, and you decided to do some speaking engagments, too, you will likely get a lot more out of it. You could do TWO documentaries: one about people walking across america and the other to do with your cause. There ya go! AND, this just gives me a whole nother year to follow your preparations through your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

