Heigh Ho, Heigh Ho, It’s Off to the Gym We Go!

Heigh ho!  Heigh ho heigh ho heigh ho!

See, even the seven dwarves liked to take long walks for exercise.

So I mentioned earlier that I joined Loprinzi’s Gym.  It’s an awesome gym, and I’m not being paid to say it.  In fact, my family has a lot of history at this gym.  I worked there when I was a 15 year old kid.  My dad worked there briefly, helping out.  As I recall that was just a couple of afternoons a week.  My Uncle Forest managed the place for a while, and even though he lives a long-ass commute away now, he still manages to make it over to Loprinzi’s a couple of times a week.

Quick blurb about my Uncle Forest.  He likes to power lift.  Back in 2003, he set the world record for his age bracket at the bench press, 512 1/2 pounds.  There’s a picture on the gym wall of that.  But wait!  I just did a google search of the record, and I found an even more impressive, more current record.  In 2010, my bad-ass uncle bench pressed 617.2 pounds–a world record for his weight and age class. And he trained right there at Loprinzi’s Gym.  That means he can easily bench press more than two of me.  Whoa.  I’m a very big gal.  Most guys wouldn’t be able to bench press ONE of me.

Very cool.  So Loprinzi’s has a special place in our family’s hearts.

Micah is joining up at the gym with me today.  It will be fun to go with him.  We both want to get into better shape.  He wants to improve his strength and balance.

My walking has already helped me get into better shape and continues to.  But I’m ready for more.  I really really miss my strength and my flexibility.  I used to be the Uber-woman.  People asked me to lift stuff and open the jars.  Now I’m so weak it’s pathetic.  I absolutely hate it.   So Loprinzi’s will definitely help me there.  Maybe my uncle can give me some pointers.  Also, Loprinzi’s has a pool.  It’s not heated and it’s outside, so no sissies allowed.  I miss swimming something fierce and I would like to train for a triathalon, something I’ve never done before.  I think it would be fun!  So this summer as the water gets warmer (I’m not a sissy, but I’m definitely a wuss), I’ll be swimming pretty regularly.

People might wonder how I have time for walking AND working out AND doing everything else.  It’s all about what’s important to me.  I make time for what is important.  For me, my health is important.  So there you go.

One thought on “Heigh Ho, Heigh Ho, It’s Off to the Gym We Go!

Leave a Reply

