Money Money Money Money

The almighty dolla. Working on getting some more of those…

Seems like that’s what it all comes down to, right?  If you don’t have it, life is much tougher.   We don’t have a lot–just my husband’s disability.  I’m a writer, and I would like to make some money on my writing eventually, but writing the blockbuster novel or script takes some time (and even if/when I get published, the “blockbuster” part is no sure thing).  It’s not something that’s going to happen overnight and it certainly isn’t something that is going to keep the bills paid while I write.

Which means, like many other writers, I need to have some other kind of income.  The trouble is, much of what I know how to do pays horribly right now in part due to the economy.  I would have to work 60 hours a week, never be home and stuff my dreams in the toilet.  OR I could go back to trucking, work 70 hours a week, get paid pretty decently, never be home and stuff my dreams in the toilet.  Both choices seem pretty crappy.

This means I need some sort of alternative–something that can allow me to pursue my dreams, yet can still pay me where ever I am and whatever I’m doing. This implies some sort of on-line business, or possibly consulting because that’s about the only thing I know of that doesn’t require a brick and mortar type structure to work out of.  Consulting is tricky, because it involves a lot of face time, something I don’t have if I’m going to be walking around so much.  And when I walk across America, then what?

I subscribe to Chris Guillebeau’s blog, The Art of Non-Conformity.  (This is also the title of a fabulous book Chris wrote, btw.)  He’s a fellow Portlander who travels as if his life depends on it.  He has figured out ways to live unconventionally and make the money thing work.  A month or so ago, I read that he was putting out a new book.  It’s called The $100 Startup.  He asked his readers to help him out by reading and reviewing the book to help spread the good word for the launch of his book.  He said he would give out a 100 free copies to those who asked.  I got one!  Whee!   I haven’t “won” anything since I won $1 off Keno ages ago.

Anyhow, in this book, Chris talks about how people can start up businesses that can bring in about $50,000 profit each year, with an initial investment of $1000 or less, many businesses starting up for less than $100.  This sounds like my kind of book and just the kind of thing I need.

So, starting Monday, I’m going to be going through the book, figuring out how his strategies could possibly work and trying to figure out what kind of business will meet our needs, pay the bills, and make my trip happen and blogging about the process.

To be clear, I don’t expect this book to solve all my problems or be The Answer. But I’m hoping I can get enough tidbits to help me with some ideas for businesses  that I already have.  If I can figure out how to make this work so that I can have the freedom to follow my own dreams, I want to share with you how I did it.

Leave a Reply

