Kickin’ Butt

Met-enkephalin. “The β -endorphin molecules function to relieve pain or produce pleasurable feelings and contain within their structure the pentapeptides met-enkephalin and leu-enkephalin.”
Read more: Endorphins – Chemistry Encyclopedia – structure, proteins, examples, number, name http://www.chemistryexplained.com/Di-Fa/Endorphins.html#b#ixzz1vfeu3WVM

Going to the gym has been crazy good.  The endorphins, man, the endorphins.  I feel so….goood.  *dreamy, happy look on my face*

I’ve got more energy, my stamina is already improving, my strength is improving, my stretchy-ness is improving.  Everything is improving.

Well, except my weight.  It’s funny.  I’ve been walking like crazy, PLUS working out at the gym five times a week and I’m on a plateau that seems to just go on and on and on and on.

Sigh.

At least I FEEL a difference.  My pants are a bit looser, and there are the other health effects that I already mentioned.  So I’m not discouraged.  I’ll just keep at it and before you know it, the pounds will start melting like butter once again.

I so rocked the miles!

Monday, I kicked ass at the gym.  Whoa.  I worked super hard.  I also walked a bunch, so I ended up with walking over 10 miles that day.  I was feeling pretty dang good about that!  It’s the first time I did over ten miles in a day this year.  I’ve had plenty of 9+ milers, but I never quite squeaked past the 10 mile point.  Until now.

I also tried out the elliptical machine, since Jim Abbott, one of my readers and a man who walked across America himself, swears by it.  I’ve tried it in the past and found it made my feet numb and I didn’t like the way it made me feel.  But, that was something like five or six years ago, and I figured I ought to try it again.  Equipment evolves over time (and so does my body!)–who knows, maybe I won’t have the problems now.  So I tried it.

I spent a half an hour on the elliptical and that thing just worked me over!  Whew!  With that machine, I was doing a jogging pace (for me, anyway!), yet not getting the jogging impact, which was nice.  I have trouble with my hip because of my weight and I can’t jog just yet because of it.  I still got some numbness in my feet after about 20 minutes on the machine, but it wasn’t too bad.

I was afraid that going to the gym would poop me out and make it so that I can’t or don’t want to walk as much in the afternoon when I go walk to get Willow.  But I’ve found the exact opposite happens.  Working out in the morning peps me up and gets me ragin’ to get out the door!  So I’m happy with the way things are working out scheduling-wise with my workouts.

Tuesday, I managed to twist my knee stepping off the elliptical, though.  I still managed to eke out 8.93 miles of walking on the sore knee, but I had to tape it up and take some ibuprofen.

Today is a rest day from the gym.  I think I’ll take it easier on the walking, too, and try to give a little rest time for my knee to get better.

I wonder how quickly I’ll start going through endorphin withdrawal?  🙂  Gotta work out, man, I need my fix….

3 thoughts on “Kickin’ Butt

  1. I hit that plateau when I was training for my walk, elilptical machine only) and I asked the gym owner what he would advise to get the pounds coming off again. He told me to do this series of weight machines..leg lifts, presses, bicep curls, etc.that are at my gym, a(bout 15 machines).he said to mix up my routine to confuse my body. I did it and it worked.

    • Well, since I’ve only been going to the gym for about 3 weeks now, I’m not too worried about it. If the plateau continues on for another couple of weeks, then I’ll see what else I can do. I know my body is getting benefit from what I’m doing now, and it is still pretty new, so there isn’t any danger of it being “used” to the activity or anything, lol. 🙂

      • That is correct! BUT from experience I can tell you that you do want to build muscle somewhat because increasing muscle mass enables your body to utilize oxygen better,

Leave a Reply

