Cast of Characters

Sometimes you want to go where everybody knows your name…(cue Cheers theme music) Ironically, since I’m horrible at names I don’t remember them. Yet.

I love working out at the gym.   As I’ve been going regularly, I’ve been getting to know who the regulars are.  I’m terrible at remembering names, so I’ve come up with my own nicknames in my head to represent each person.  When I mention one of them to my husband, he instantly knows who I’m referring to.

So you also know who I’m referring to in the future when I write about my experiences at the gym, I figure I should write up a quick cast of characters for quick and easy reference.

BOB–the only guy who’s name I know at the gym, other than my Uncle Forest.  Bob runs Loprinzi’s and he’s a helpful and sweet guy.   He knows his stuff, too.  Tuesday he showed me how to do stiff-legged deadlifts to work my back and stretch the hamstrings and whoa, baby, do they work!

MR. MUTTONCHOPS–There nearly every morning, Mr. Muttonchops has the most luxurious set of muttonchop sideburns I’ve ever seen.  They are so impressive, that if I were a guy, I would be inspired to grow my own in homage to him.  I will be heartbroken if he ever decides to shave them.  In addition to the awesome facial hair, Mr. Muttonchops has a megawatt smile AND he’s super nice and helpful.   What a great combo!

THE MUSIC MEN–these two gentlemen love music.  In between exercise sets, they can be seen sharing an ipod and discussing the songs on it.  I don’t hear enough to know whether or not they are musicians themselves or if they just love to critique whatever band is on, but this is a snatch of typical conversation I hear:  “That part where [insert musical term here] should have had a [insert musical term here].”  I often hear the words “drums,” “hi-hat,” “riff,” and other musical words that I know very little about (so little, I can’t even remember the words or phrases).

TATTOO MUSCLE-EY GUYS–there are two or three of these guys.  I haven’t yet figured out how to differentiate them, and I get them confused.  They all have their tattoos in pretty close to the same places, and so I don’t want to stare to figure them out, because I don’t want the guys to think I’m checking them out.   Perish the thought I get labelled as a dirty old woman.  Even if they ARE nice to look at.

MOHAWK–this is one of the tattooed muscle-ey guys.  I can remember him because of the hair.  Micah remembers him because of his hot girlfriend/wife.

FAMILY AFFAIR–a man and woman come in and bring in their tow-headed little boy.  Sometimes it’s just the dad with the son, sometimes just the mom, and sometimes it’s both.  The little boy is adorable and likes to flirt with the folks working out, peeking through the equipment at them.

MR. MOVIES–this gentleman has been around a while and he loves to talk.  He talks about pretty much anything innocuous (I don’t think I’ve heard him talk about any subject that could be considered controversial, like politics or religion or anything like that ever), but especially talks about movies and movie stars.  He’s a sweet guy.

GUY WITH THE HUGE BEARD–This guy keeps to himself.  I call him this nickname because he has a really huge, long beard.  He seems nice enough, though, and he smiled at me the other day.

EARLY BIRD WOMAN–This woman is almost always leaving shortly after I get there.  Either I scare her away, or she gets there super early and is finishing up just as I get there in the morning.  I haven’t had an opportunity to say hi to her yet.  She looks like she’s been going to Loprinzi’s for years, though, since she’s pretty buff.

RUNNING MAN–This guy is always on the treadmill running like a track star.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen him do anything different.  He seems pretty intense, and I haven’t gotten brave enough to say hi to him yet.

CURLY–This cutie has some serious hair.  He’s also strong as an ox.  I’m jealous.

There are some others, but those are the ones I see the most.

I don’t see a lot of women in the mornings, mostly just guys.  Which suits me fine, because that means the bathroom and shower area are all mine when I finish and I can lay my stuff out without worrying about getting in anybody’s way.   Bwa ha ha ha!

Viva la Loprinzi’s!

3 thoughts on “Cast of Characters

  1. Haha! I love your nicknames for these people,and I like how you obviously think about them. You are obviously an observer.
    Hey, wanted to ask–did you get my email message I sent to you via your contact form?

Leave a Reply

