June 16 Portland Kidney Walk & Stumptown Movie Makers FFU*

*FFU=Friday Follow Up.  Friday follow ups are my weekly Friday posts where I share where I’ve been and what I’ve been up to on my Portland Walkabout.  I’ve got a 2000 mile goal I’m trying to achieve by the last day of 2012.

Saturday’s Highlights-

I’ve already written a post about the Kidney Walk, so I’ll keep this post short (hah! as if I can, since my nickname should be Can’t-Ever-Use-One-Word-When-Thirty-Words-Will-Do).

Micah helps with a little setup, since we were at the Walk so early.

The Kidney Walk was a lot of work for me.  I’m not much of a runner, and haven’t been training for running or jogging.  My hip can’t handle it at this point.  The desire is there, sure, but my body says “nope, no way”.

I know from experience if I try jogging at this weight, my right hip melts down and I can’t use it properly for weeks.  Back in 2005 I was doing lots of walking (last time I did a half-marathon, too) and I felt like since I was doing so great, I could kick it up a notch and jog a bit.  I did, and my body reminded me why it’s probably not a good idea to jog when you’re a 100+ pounds overweight and you have a tricky hip. (It’s tricky because I injured it when I was fifteen.  I believe I partially dislocated it after a nasty fall.  I was alone, so I had to deal on my own.  After I managed to get back up, I rode my bike home—we lived way out in the boonies, had no telephone, and dealing with things was part of life. Oh gods, but it hurt!)

Micah got the benefit of a zumba warmup. Do you know how hard it is to hold a camera steady when you find your hips swinging to a very infectious beat? Trying to keep my hips, who had a mind of their own, from dancing to the groove was MY warmup!

Anyhow, during the Kidney Walk, I found myself jogging.  I had to.  I had to jog ahead to get the next shot of Micah rounding this or that corner, jog ahead to get a nice vantage point of him walking by, jog ahead for everything.  And then there was the time I was walking backward, attempting to keep pace with the group.  Oh, and did I mention that while I was doing all this, I was lugging along my tripod and two cameras AND water for my husband and I?  Plus snacks, since we didn’t really get a chance to grab much of a breakfast.  While my cameras were small and the tripod made for walking so it was really light, it was a lot to manage while jogging and walking backward.  I told Micah to tell me if I was going to walk into anything or fall over.

Micah catching his breath on a hill. Thank God–that meant a breather for me, too!

So by the end of the Kidney Walk, I was happy we were done!  No more jogging! Whee!

But the day wasn’t done yet!

After we snacked and enjoyed the live music for a while, we had to hurry our little butts home so we could get our stuff and move on to our next event.  We were participating in Stumptown Movie Makers make a mini movie challenge.   So we zipped on over to Portland Community Media (who graciously allow SMM to meet in their space) for the meeting.  There we got to watch a number of fun videos submitted by our local filmmakers.  We had two categories—mini movies (movies a minute or less) and movies shot all in one take.  Our film qualified for both categories, which wasn’t intentional, but it was a nice little bonus, because the group decided to give us the first place award for the one shot category.  (The film we entered was the trailer for the documentary Micah wants to finish this summer.)  So our prize was a book on documentary filmmaking donated by Lost Adams Productions, a mini bendy tripod, and an award certificate.

Isn’t this sweet? It was for the trailer for the documentary Micah is working on about his life with kidney disease!

The meeting was a lot of fun! After the meeting, we then had to drive over to my daughter’s friend’s house so we could pick her up from her sleepover.  After we got home, I baked.

My dad has been bugging me for quite some time to make him some cookies, even going so far as to hand me a recipe and say, “These look good.”  So I made him those cookies.

But quite possibly one of the most odd experiences of the day was watching the World Naked Bike Ride.  Their route passed by our house.  Literally.  Like, right there on the street.  I was just finishing up my cookies sometime after ten pm and I heard some people hollering “whoooo!”, so I went outside to investigate.  A few naked people on bikes trickled by.  Then a few more.  Then a giant mass of them that didn’t quit for about FORTY FIVE MINUTES.  Do you know how many people it takes to keep a continual stream of folks riding by?  THOUSANDS.

I have never seen so many naked people in my life!  I yelled at Willow, “WILLOW!  Check it out!  There are millions of naked people on bikes riding by!” She came out with me and got the biggest kick out of it.  We stood on the corner and watched the unruly, body-painted people with decorated helmets and bikes alight with glow-sticks proceed on by.  My daughter was screaming, “Awesome!  Awesome!” during the whole thing, and high-fiving the cyclists that pedaled on by.  She was hoarse the next morning.  It was fun. I asked her if she would want to do something like that, and she said, “I think so!  It looks like fun!”

Now, some people may question why I would allow my ten year old to stay up late and watch a bunch of naked people, but I pooh pooh those questions.  There’s nothing wrong with the human body, and the bike ride is all done in good fun.  The body paint and costumes were really cool, too.

Love it!

Apparently, the World Naked Bike Ride has been happening in Portland since about 2004.  I found some interesting stuff about it here.  My dad participates once in a while (avert mine eyes or go blind!  Dad parts!  aaarrrrghhh!  LOL) and said last year there were over 5000 riders or so.  It wasn’t the best weather last year, and this year was pretty nice, so I wouldn’t be surprised if they topped those numbers.

So after jogging, walking backwards, going to movie meetups, running around in the car, baking my butt off, and watching the World Naked Bike Ride, I called it a day.  Exhaustion officially set in.

Saturday I walked (and jogged!) 4.66 miles.

Leave a Reply

