June 17th and Father’s Day FFU*

*FFU=Friday Follow Up.  Friday follow ups are my weekly Friday posts where I share where I’ve been and what I’ve been up to on my Portland Walkabout.  I’ve got a 2000 mile goal I’m trying to achieve by the last day of 2012.  Check it out!

Sunday’s Highlights-

Sunday was Father’s Day.  I knew I probably wasn’t going to get in much walking this day, since I would be doing stuff with the family, and I was right.

Most of the day involved making meals for the Dads (my dad and my husband), and baking MORE cookies.  By the time I finished baking, I had probably baked 15 dozen or so altogether.  Now my dad can’t bug me to make him cookies for a while. “They’re in the freezer,” is all I’ll have to say!

Dinner consisted of a shrimp theme.  I grilled size 16/20 shrimp on the barbecue as one dish.  Marinade was butter, garlic, lemon and pepper.  I also made some homemade shrimp cocktail (Dad called it a shrimp compote, but he liked it, so that’s what was important!).  And I made baked stuffed pasta shells with shrimp and cheese.  The baked shells were my favorite part of the whole meal.  Oh, and I steamed up some baby zucchini, the only dish that strayed outside of the theme by not having shrimp in it.

Everybody loved it, and it was pretty good if I do say so myself.

So what little walking I did was mostly in regards to taking the dog for walks and a little bit of last minute shopping for ingredients.

Sunday I walked 2.2 miles.

Leave a Reply

