June 22nd-23rd Friday Follow Up

Welcome to my Friday Follow Ups–posts where I blog about the last seven days of my Portland Walkabout; where I’ve been, what I’ve been up to, and how much mileage I’ve managed to rack up.

Friday’s Highlights-

Not my fruit crisp, but it looks a lot like it!
image from http://www.staceysnacksonline.com/2010/08/any-fruit-crisp.html

Friday the 22nd was a busy day.  I was blogging most of the morning and afternoon, then I rushed home to make a fruit crisp and salad to take with me and my husband to the home of a friend of ours.  Micah made a bake penne that was out of this world (really, honey, you freakin’ outdid yourself!), and our friends brought a curried ham and yams to the table.  The entire meal was delish.

We caught up with our friends and chatted and play-tested my Transplant! game a bit and I got some more good insights.  Then we bused it home, a process that took over two hours (gotta love Trimet).

So I didn’t get much walking in Friday–only 2.65 miles.  Grr.

Saturday’s Highlights-

I’m not sure where this ennui is coming from, but I had another day like Monday where I didn’t want to do jack.  My daughter even walked the dog, so I didn’t go anywhere.  I didn’t even get on the computer, which is unheard of for me!  I’m wondering if I’m TOO busy most of the time, and my body is telling me that I just need to calm the heck down and take a day off from time to time.

When I do that, though, I seriously fall behind on my mileage.  This means I need to make it up on other days.  I suppose I could do four fifteen milers a week and take three days off completely every week so I don’t get so burnt out, but that’s a LOT of mileage to put on only a few days, and I’m not quite at that point yet, I think.

I better figure out a solution soon, because I don’t want to fall so far behind that I have trouble making up my miles.  I have noticed that on nights where I am up really late, which causes me to get up late, it tends to throw off my day.  Not just in that it’s harder to et anything done, but also that my motivation level is much lower, too.  My rhythm is interrupted and it’s blah city (just like I was up late Friday night because of our visit with our friends we hadn’t seen in months).  I suppose I could try to be much stricter with my schedule, going to bed no later than midnight and getting up by 8am so I can get a jump start on the day.  But I don’t think that’s the whole problem.

Any suggestions, my fine followers?

Saturday I walked–wait, I walked?  Hah! What walking?  Unless you want to count waltzing into the kitchen or bathroom…

2 thoughts on “June 22nd-23rd Friday Follow Up

  1. Two things: yes your body tells you stuff like “hey lady i need to rest!” Sometimes if you are doing long distance training for a looong period of time, some athletes will take up to a whole week off to let their bodies rejuvenate. They will instead focus on a different type of exercise and even do that lightly. The second thing: serious athletes have a very strict schedule–always going to bed at the same time and waking up at the same time. It lets your body know what to expect. While you are not an olympic champion yet, you are still training pretty seriously, so be good to your body and “communicate” to it so it will k ow what to expect. Seriously. When i say communicate, i mean the stuff you do that creates regularity for it. Like consistent sleep times, eating times, etc.
    thats another point– are you eating healthy? And are you eating in a way that supports your body for this training?

  2. Yeah, I’ve been thinking about that. I posted about my thoughts on scheduling in my June 25th post. I’m still having trouble getting into a regular routine, though, and it’s frustrating the heck out of me. As for food, I was doing really well with it through May, though I think this month things have gotten a bit whacked out. In part, because of the weird schedule, so my scheduled meals are off, and also because I’m finding I’m hungry all the time (which I wasn’t last month). I’m guessing that my body has finally realized that I’m spending gazillions of calories and is telling me that I need to ramp up how much I eat. But I try not to eat too much, because I’m afraid that then I won’t be in a calorie deficit, which I need if I’m going to lose some of this weight. It’s this weird balancing act, and it would be helpful if I had a nutritionist that I could talk with that didn’t charge me for the service. Know of any? Calorie count is very helpful for keeping track of my food, but I haven’t been doing that much lately, again because my whole schedule has gone haywire. Grrrrr!

Leave a Reply

