June 25th, FFU*

*FFU=Friday Follow Up.  Friday follow ups are my weekly Friday posts where I share where I’ve been and what I’ve been up to on my Portland Walkabout.  I’ve got a 2000 mile goal I’m trying to achieve by the last day of 2012.  Check it out!

Monday’s Highlights-

Monday morning, I started out right.  Despite staying up a little later than I meant to, I had set my alarm and managed to drag my butt out of bed at a decent hour.  I took Dante for a four mile walk around the neighborhood, then walked to the gym (with quite a bit of additional side-tripping).  After a very intense upper body workout, I walked back.  And of course, there was much additional side-tripping home, too.

Loprinzi’s Gym is on 41st, off Division.  I have walked many of the blocks between Division and Stark from about 37th to 27th, but hadn’t done much east of that.  So I did quite a bit of exploring from 37th to 42nd all along there.  It was very nice.  And I scored a neat black leather desk organizer thingamajig from a free box on somebody’s curb, too.  Though I then had to carry it home for a few miles, lol.

Since I walked quite a bit Sunday, I had time to reflect on one of my FFU posts I wrote about earlier.  I mentioned I was having a big problem with getting motivated and having a major case of the blahs lately.  I thought part of it might have to do with staying up too late, which meant I got up late and it threw my schedule off for the rest of the day.

After thinking about it more, I realize there is a kernel of truth to that, but an even bigger problem is the fact that I don’t really have a schedule at all anymore.  I realized that after my daughter finished school, I didn’t have the same routine and it is throwing me off.  I used to get up by 7:15, dress, eat, take the dog for a walk, drive Willow to school, go to the gym, walk to Willow’s school, ride the bus home, have dinner, take the dog for an evening walk and do other things that I needed to do in the evening (like blog).  I don’t have that routine anymore.

Since summer break started, I think my mileage has been spotty because I don’t have that fixed routine.  So I figured if I could change that, I may be able to get into a really nice groove again and start cranking out the miles.  It’s why I set my alarm for 8am Monday morning.

So during Monday’s walk, I thought some more about all of that.  I think that my new routine will involve me dragging my butt out of bed at 8am, doing my morning toilette and breakfast, taking the dog for a nice walk, walking to the gym, walking home, and then possibly walking again later in the evening.  On days that I’m off from the gym, I can still set my alarm, and do my walking.  I do want to make ONE day a week sacrosanct, though.  A day where I don’t have to do bupkis (other than maybe quick, simple walks for the dog–he deserves a day off, too!).  I think I need that so I can recharge my batteries.  That will probably be Sundays.

My thoughts and schemes kept my mind pretty busy during my walk, so I think I didn’t notice as many fun things along the route as I usually do. Bummer.  I did notice, however, that I seemed to have a frickin’ Snow White aura about me Monday.  By that I mean animals were attracted to me like crazy. I had several cats come over to me to pet them.  Dogs, too.  In fact, this tiny little chihuahua critter came over to me and started begging for attention.  He was so cute!   Chihuahua’s and me are usually like fire and ice.  They always bark or growl at me.  Not on Monday, though.  Even a few birds seemed like they were following me and cheeping/cawing/tweeting.

None of the birds were landing on my finger or offering to carry my water bottle and umbrella for me. So maybe I wasn’t pulling off the Snow White aura as well as I thought.
http://www.world-wide-art.com/images/Jim-Salvati/Snow-White-and-the-Seven-Dwarfs-Snow-White-on-the-Balcony.jpg

Could be they were being territorial and protecting their nests until I passed on by (“move along, move along if you know what’s good for you”), but I prefer to believe that they were trying to get me to sing Whistle While You Work.  I should have, just to make them happy.  And because whistling is fun.

Here is MY version:

Just whistle while you walk (whistle)
And cheerfully a smile will quickly spread across your face
So hum a merry tune (hum)
It won’t take long when there’s a song
to help you set the pace

And as the miles loom
Imagine that you zoom
to someone that you love
And soon you’ll find you’re dancing to the tune

When hearts are high the time will fly
So whistle while you walk.

Yep, that should be my walking song.

Monday I walked 13.16 miles.

Leave a Reply

