June 26th and 27th Friday Follow Up

Friday Follow Ups are posts where I let my readers where I’ve been this last week on my Portland walkabout, what I’ve been up to (and when I still had a camera, an interesting picture or two–I’m working on getting a new camera and hopefully the pics will be back soon!).

Tuesday’s Highlights-

No doubt I’ve got some of this going on. The #1 thing I can do to help it get better (reduce injury) is to lose weight. Working on that, but that takes time. I’m impatient, I admit it. In the meantime, it’s anti-inflammatory therapy like ibuprofen to the “rescue”. NOT. http://www.medicinenet.com/osteoarthritis_overview_pictures_slideshow/article.htm

To put it mildly, I was SORE.  With all caps.  I think doing an almost 16-miler and a half marathon distance twice in less than a week put some serious stress on my hips.  I dosed up on ibuprofen, whimpered, whined and attempted to go about my day.  I didn’t make it far.

Micah and I walked to a cafe where we could get internet and attempted to work on a RocketHub campaign for the documentary he’s doing.  That turned out to be a lot more work than we anticipated, as we realized there were a lot of things that we still needed to figure out–rewards, what to ask, the details behind RocketHub’s site, etc.  So it didn’t feel like we got much done, even though we did. Mostly it was information gathering, but that kind of thing is necessary, so I figure it was good.

So my forcing myself to walk to the cafe, plus taking the dog for a walk, I managed to do 3.53 miles.  Oof.

Wednesday’s Highlights-

Wednesday was a doozy.  Emotionally, in particular, for Micah.  I didn’t get much walking in today since we went to kidney transplant class at Oregon Health Science University hospital.  Much of the rest of the day was spent talking with Micah about pros and cons of Micah getting a transplant, and then while he napped (catching up on sleep, since he was on dialysis all night before the class) I worked on my Transplant! deck.  I plan to write a separate post about this experience, since I think it deserves one all on it’s own.  That is, I plan to write about the transplant class, not about me doodling and fiddling with the cards.

Look for that post Wednesday–the Fourth of July!  (Seems apropos–a discussion about freedom from dialysis on the anniversary of our country’s declaration of independence!)

Wednesday I was still incredibly sore, too.  My hip was killing me!  I think too much too soon.  Bleah.  My heart is there, but my body just isn’t willing yet.  Grrr.

Wednesday I walked 1.95 miles.

 

2 thoughts on “June 26th and 27th Friday Follow Up

  1. Hang in there girl! You’re doing great 😀 On a side note, I just started a new job as a housekeeper for the resort. My whole BODY is killing me! LOL! I hope I get used to this soon. Take care and keep up the good work!

    • I find that new jobs, especially ones where there is lots of physical activity, are great for helping you lose weight. At least for the first couple of weeks. You might lose 7 or 10 pounds. Then it seems like the body always adjusts and that’s it. But it’s kind of nice! I hope your body gets used to the lifting, stretching, pulling, pushing etc that always is involved in housekeeping soon! 🙂 Sore bodies are no fun.

Leave a Reply

