NW Kidney Kids Kidney Camp

 

Hey, all!  This week I will be pretty much incommunicado, as I will be filming a documentary at the NW Kidney Kids Kidney Camp.  I won’t have time to post any of my Friday Follow Ups, as I will be chasing campers about and filming all of their activities.  It will be a blast, and a ton of work, and we are very excited to be going.

What is the Kidney Camp you ask?  (I’m sure you were asking that, weren’t you?)  According to the website:

Kidney Camp provides a safe environment for children with End Stage Renal Disease who are on dialysis or have had a kidney transplant. 

Kidney Camp is FREE to pediatric End Stage Renal patients and their families.

Kidney Kids and their families come to camp for educational activities, mutual emotional support, camaraderie, and fun.

Isn’t that great?  It’s a camp where kids with a serious disease and their families can go and feel like normal kids, do normal camp-type activities around other kids like themselves.  Kids get the support of their peers, and the parents get the support of their peers as well.  Because the camp invites the parents and siblings of the kids with kidney disease, too.  It’s a family affair and they ALL get something out of it!  NW Kidney Kids is a fantastic organization, and I’m proud to be working with them on this documentary.

Anyway, I’m not sure how much walking I’m going to be able to do this week as a result of being at the camp, either, since I’ll be working on this.  I’ll try to sneak some in here and there, but it may not be very much.  I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

So until next week, enjoy your summer and keep checking back, because I will be blogging about our activities and what we did once we get back (or maybe during the camp, if we get a quiet moment, which seems highly unlikely).

Oh, and one other thing.  I would like to remind everyone that the RocketHub campaign that Micah and I have going for the documentary we plan to make about Micah’s struggles with kidney disease ends on July 31st.  Please be dears and donate to our campaign and spread the word.  If you are broke (understandable in this economy) please help by sharing the links to all of your friends, family, co-workers, etc.  Spread it around on whatever social media platform you use.  We really need the support, and we are a long ways from making our goal still!

 

One thought on “NW Kidney Kids Kidney Camp

Leave a Reply

