August 30 Day Challenge Wrap Up

I gave myself a few challenges to attempt over the last 30 days.  The idea was, I would do this challenge every single day, for thirty days straight.  My challenges?

  1. Get up no later than 8am to get an earlier crack at the day.  (Earlier is even better.)
  2. Walk no less than two hours a day.  No less!
  3. Read 30 minutes a day–blogs don’t count.

And that was it.  In some ways my challenges were a phenomenal success, and in other ways they weren’t.

THE FIRST CHALLENGE

My first challenge certainly wasn’t perfect.  I managed to maintain for about two weeks.  I felt so great about that!  Then I stayed up extra late a few nights in row because my husband was in the hospital.  That threw me off and I went back to sleeping in again.  Except this time, I generally got up by 9 or 9:30.  It’s still not what my goal was.  But I won’t beat myself up about it too much.  Since I was sleeping in until 10 fairly frequently in the month before that, I would consider that an improvement!  And I can always try again.

CHALLENGE TWO

The second challenge, I didn’t manage to do every day, either.  Especially since I chose to do a couple of REALLY LOG walks/hikes.  The next days I spent recovering.  Heck, after my hike in Forest Park, my body didn’t want to move hardly at all.  My mind wanted to go back (see my eye candy post), but my body said, “nope!  not gonna happen today!”

However, as I mentioned when I announced my challenges, when I post I want to do something for X amount of time, I often find myself continuing past that and I end up doing more, because I like to be competitive with myself.  So despite not walking two hours everyday, I walked for so long on so many days,  that I ended up averaging 6.19 miles every day.  And since walking 3 miles an hour for me is a very fast pace and isn’t something I do with regularity, that means I was averaging over two hours a day of walking every day, anyway.  So even though I didn’t manage to do the two hours EVERY day, I still did pretty darn good.  Yay for me!!

THIRD CHALLENGE

fail·ure  (flyr)

(definition from: http://www.thefreedictionary.com/failure)

n.

1. The condition or fact of not achieving the desired end or ends: the failure of an experiment.
2. One that fails: a failure at one’s career.
3. The condition or fact of being insufficient or falling short: a crop failure.
4. A cessation of proper functioning or performance: a power failure.
5. Nonperformance of what is requested or expected; omission: failure to report a change of address.
6. The act or fact of failing to pass a course, test, or assignment.
7. A decline in strength or effectiveness.
8. The act or fact of becoming bankrupt or insolvent.

My last challenge was an abysmal failure (see the definition above–I think I qualify with several of those definitions), mostly because I sorta forgot about it after the first week, lol.  I’ll definitely have to try that one again.

Now on to September.  What will I do for this amazing month, the harbinger of fall?  The month my daughter goes back to school (yay for both of us!)?  Hmm.

Holly’s next 30 Day Challenges, should she choose to accept them:

  1. Get up by 7:30 am every morning.  (Gotta get the kidlet off to school now, so I need to get up earlier!)
  2. Walk 2.5 hours every day.  With this one, I’m just extending my last walking goal.  I would like to end up walking at least 7 miles a day on average every day this month.
  3. Read a book for thirty minutes every day.  (Let’s try this one again, shall we?)
  4. Spend half an hour a day designing my games Transplant and Walk Across America.  Somewhere along the way I dropped the ball on those, and I want to finish them.

Does Holly accept these challenges?  Yes, yes she does…  (Why am I talking third person all of a sudden?  Hmm.)

Some of you maybe wondering why I’m doing some of the same challenges and why I don’t choose something different.  Well, doing these challenges is a good way to build good habits (or stop bad ones, like sleeping in).  If you do something long enough, it becomes engrained.  I want to build different habits and I want to do stuff that I’m proud of.  Thus, the challenges.

What challenges will you take up for the next 30 days?

4 thoughts on “August 30 Day Challenge Wrap Up

  1. 1. Walk 90 miles in September.
    2. Keep up with my production schedule for Astride the Border.
    3. Write at least two Misanthrope columns every week. (To put on the spike for posting once a week).
    4. Keep up with my Rotating Housework Schedule.

    I’ll bug you if you bug me.

    • Awesome! Those are good. I thought about adding a writing goal in there, but I was afraid that would be too much to try and focus on. Maybe next month, especially if I get this reading one conquered!

  2. 1. Walk 30 minutes every day.
    2. Read 30 minutes every day.
    3. Work at least 30 minutes every day on the learning activities I hope to be selling online by the new year.

    I’ve just gone back to work for the school year, so it’s a good time for new habits for me as well. I really like this idea!!

Leave a Reply

