I Did It! Wheeeee!

Me crossing the start/finish line. I finished in five hours and 10 minutes.

Sooo…I did it! I walked my very first half marathon, the Forest Park Half Marathon.  I took lots of bits of video along the way, and as soon as I have a computer up and running, I plan to edit together a little video–Rocky style–of me training and then crossing the finish line victorious.  It should be a hoot.  I hope.

Anyhow, I trained hard for this half marathon, and it paid off.  Saturday the 15th, one full week before the event, I hiked the course in a new record time for me–five hours and 36 minutes.  I about died.  It took me most of the week to recover, I was that sore.  I pushed myself hard, and vowed I wouldn’t push myself that hard again.  But I kind of had to–it was getting dark in the forest and I was afraid of walking the paths in the dark.  I didn’t want to fall and kill myself.

So the 22nd came and I was ready for it.  I was floored by the looks I got from other people.  They look totally surprised to see me (understandable, since as a water buffalo amongst sleek gazelles, I stuck out like a sore thumb), but every single one looked totally pleased to see me there.  They gave me lots of encouragement, clapped, whistled, and hollered.  I thought I would cry.  Okay, scratch that.  I DID cry, but only when no one was looking.  I was so overwhelmed.  Oh, drat.  I’ve got tears welling up again….

*sniffling*

Okay, so I didn’t have my heavy backpack and all that water or snacks with me this time, since there were plenty of aid stations along the way.  I tell you, it made me feel a whole heck of a lot lighter.  It was amazing the difference not hefting that weight around made.  It also reminded me that I used to carry three times that amount of weight around on me all the time.  No wonder I used to huff and puff.  Anyhow, I raced through that course without trying nearly as hard as last week, and next thing you know, I finished it in five hours and 10 minutes, which is 26 minutes faster than the last time, and I was WAY less sore!  Woo hoo!

I was the last person to finish both the marathon AND half marathon (those marathoners are fast, dammit, and they did start an hour and a half before we half marathoners did–thus the time of 6 hours and 38 minutes on the time clock above).  But I beat my own time and I finished the course.  The Forest Park volunteers were so excited for me they gave me some prizes in appreciation–a box of Powerbar squeeze packet thingies and a jar of trail butter.  So sweet!

I really want to thank Bethany Jo Lee for sponsoring me for this event and making my dreams a reality.  I’ve always wanted to do one of these events.  Now I have.  YES!  Thank you, thank you, thank you!  I kiss your feet, dear lady.

My husband asks me what’s next on the list, a marathon?  I say maybe….

16 thoughts on “I Did It! Wheeeee!

  1. I’ve been thinking about you because I haven’t visited you over here in a while–I don’t remember seeing a post in the past week or so–duh, maybe bc first you were preparing and nervous and second because you were recuperating!!!!!
    I am so excited about this!!!! This inspires me BIG time! It makes me wonder what other kind of thing I can do. 🙂 I need to figure this out–it was a really great feeling to be a part of your first half marathon. 🙂
    And, I can’t believe you walked this thing in 26 minutes LESS than the first time you tried the actual route! That totally rocks! AND, I about cried when you wrote about how this touched you when the volunteers were so excited for you. I told you you would like this. Isn’t it an amazing feeling? I hope you got a lot more pictures. When you finish editing that video, I am totally writing a post about this and linking to it. It is extremely inspirational.
    BTW, you are always looking for ways to raise money and I was thinking about this for a while now and it came to my mind earlier today. Why don’t you use your skill and passion of documenting and video editing to create awesome videos for bloggers to post on their blogs? You can have them take the footage, and you can edit it and make it into a nice “story” with music and text and stuff. You know what I mean? Here’s another good idea: so many people are self-publishing and many of these authors want book trailers. Why don’t you go into the book trailer business? You could make some awesome ones. 🙂 Just a thought.

    • Thanks, Bethany! I’ve thought about doing more video, but I have trouble completing what I’ve got what with all the technical issues I keep coming up with in terms of my equipment breaking. Gr. I really need my OWN stuff, and relying on other agencies to borrow or rent things is not as easy as I had hoped (lots of demand). I’m stewing over in my mind thoughts about what I can do, and I’m frustrated as all heck.

  2. Rock on girl! You did wonderful! I am SO proud of you! Isn’t it amazing how you feel after finishing? I feel the same way after whining my way up a mountain LOL! But I’m whining less and hiking more miles. Go US! 😀

  3. Hey Congratulations on finishing the your marathon. Now to relax and rest and get back training for walk across america. C O N G R A T U L A T I O N S

    Gary Mitchell On Thu, Sep 27, 2012 at 3:50 PM, Holly’s Walk

Leave a Reply

