October Thirty Day Challenges

To recap last month’s challenges, I was supposed to 1) Get up at no later than 8am.  2)  Walk no less than 2 hours a day.  3)  Read 1/2 hour a day.

How did I do?  Um…. *fidgeting*  Well….  Sigh.  Okay.  I got off track last month.  I admit it.  There.  I did it.  I confessed.

I did NOT get up at 8 am or earlier every day.  I did probably  on half of them, which is better than I was doing a couple of months ago, so I say that’s an improvement, just not as…improved…as I was hoping for.

And I most certainly did NOT walk 2 hours a day every day.  I was training for the half marathon, and the trails and distances were torquing out my joints and muscles so that after days I did the long trail stuff, I didn’t want to do much at all.  And at the end of the month I just got off track, period, because (I think) I was depressed because I’ve got no stinkin’ computer and I’m feeling like why the heck am I putting myself through this daily aggravation if I can’t even write about it?  Gaaaah!

As for the reading thing…well, mid-month I sucked.  But toward the end of the month I picked it back up again.  Actually I read several books and probably more than made up for time-wise for all the days I missed, lol.  But that’s to be expected.  When I’m down or depressed, I tend to bury my nose in a book.

Sigh.

Well, I guess I need to shake off those doldrums.  I’m happy to be alive.  I got some new trail running shoes (on a dang good sale!) yesterday, so that I can do better on the Forest Park trails.   Micah and I are looking at computers to possibly do a layaway plan, and by December I’m hoping to get back to my blogging glory.

So…time to stop feeling sorry for myself and get back on the wagon again.

October’s 30 day challenges:

  1. Get up by 8am (so far so good–every day this month I’ve done that!).
  2. Walk no less than 2 hours a day.
  3. Learn how to identify one new plant each day.
  4. Monitor my calorie intake each day and do not exceed my daily limits.

The first two are just continuations of challenges I’m having difficulties with.  The third is because it has occurred to me that I don’t know how many times I’ve posted a picture of a plant on this blog and said, “Anybody know what this is?”  I also realized that if I walk across America, it would be nice to be able to forage for wild plants, since vegetables, greens and fruits don’t keep well.   Also, it would help keep my food costs down on the trip and I would be eating healthier.   Wild plants are chock full of vitamins and minerals.  It turns out many common weeds are edible and quite nutritious.  So I’ve check out some identification books and want to become familiar with them, maybe even try some out (if I’m feeling adventurous).  The fourth goal is because I realize that five pounds crept back on in the last couple of months since I haven’t been monitoring my food intake.  And I’ve been stressed and depressed, especially since my computer died.  So, while counting calories (actually, I don’t really count calories–I look at carbs vs. fats vs. proteins totals) is made more difficult without the easy programs my computer had (and I don’t have a smart phone), I still need to do it.

So yeah.  Those are my goals for this month.  What are yours?

 

 

7 thoughts on “October Thirty Day Challenges

  1. For what it’s worth, I did not achieve all my goals in September, either.

    I’d gotten a peritonsillar abscess (don’t google it. It’s painful, nasty and has to be lanced), and was out of commission for a week. I walked a little more than 50 miles than the 90 I’d planned. However, I am proud of not letting my outraged sense of perfection permit me to quit.

  2. Good for you for what you *did* accomplish!

    I read every day for 30 minutes..
    I worked on my learning materials maybe half of the days (however, I ended up subbing a whole lot more than I anticipated, so there’s a reason. Not an excuse — if it’s important enough, I’ll find the time).
    Walking 30 minutes — um, yeah, about that…

    New goals: continue the reading, and get back on track with the learning materials. I’m begging off on the walking due to a busted toe, and amending it to Wii Fit daily by the end of the month.

    • Thanks, Emma! I appreciate that! I even drew the footsies at the top (not surprising, since they look totally amateur. But that’s what I was going for. Riiiiigggghhht….) LOL

      • Actually, I really was going for a sort of drawn-by-a-kid look. I love my daughter’s doodles from when she was younger, and I thought something like that would be fun.

Leave a Reply

