Thirty Day Challenges November Edition

Love the “Keep Portland Beered” sign. It’s a play on the popular bumper sticker “Keep Portland Weird”.

I did pretty well on my challenges this month, which is why celebrating by tipping back a brewski at a neighborhood bar like the one above sounds tempting.  But I won’t.  I’ve got too much to do.

Last month, I had a few challenges I wanted to accomplish over thirty days.  If you are new to my blog, lately I’ve been attempting to do a challenge every day for thirty days.  I pick a couple two or three things that I want to do and then…do them.  Well, I try to, anyway.  I can’t say that I’ve ever succeeded in any of my challenges in doing them EVERY day, but I’ve come pretty close a couple of times.

For October, the challenges I chose were to:

1) Get up at no later than 8 am every day.  I did much better with this challenge this month.  I’ve had this as a challenge for a couple of months now.  This month, I think I managed to accomplish this approximately 85-90% of the time.  I feel like I got a lot more done as a result, too.  So yay for that!

2) Walk at minimum two hours a day every day.  This one was a mixed bag.  Again.  The first two weeks of the month I did a bang up job and walked over 100 miles!  That’s a lot of mileage and a lot of time spent walking.  Then things slowed down a little bit, not too bad–I still did over 35 miles the next week–but then I found out about Micah’s pending heart surgery and I got soooo stressed out.  I buried my nose in books and checked out movies from the library so I wouldn’t have to think about anything.  I just vegged, for the most part.  Not a healthy way to cope, I should think.  So I didn’t do too well the last part of the month at all.  Overall, I still walked over a 158 miles, which is an average of over 5 miles walked each day (which is the equivalent to a slower two hour walk every day, even though I didn’t actually do that).  So this goal fell short of what I really wanted to do.

3)  Learn how to identify one new plant each day.  This I didn’t do every day, but I did learn to identify approximately 40 new plants (and some fungi), which more than averages it out, so…even though it wasn’t every day I learned one, I’ll still call it a success.

Some of the plants I learned about:

Edible list-staghorn sumac, thimbleberry, salal, pokeweed, pigweed, sheep’s sorrel, birch-bark cherry, chokecherry, stinging nettles, puffball mushrooms, chicken in the wood, and several more.

Non-Edible list-snowberry, poison ivy (I thought that was an eastern plant, not northwestern, but the guidebooks say we’ve got poison ivy AND poison oak), and others.

This exercise was actually a lot of fun!  I did several “naturalist walks” where I took my guidebooks and looked things up.

4)  Monitor my calorie intake each day and do not exceed my daily limits.  This goal I completely failed at.  Why?  I forgot it was a goal, LOL.  Only just now when I went back to review what I wrote for October did I see it.  Whoops.

So what’s the plan for November?  Well, I think I would like to keep my walking goal alive.  It helps keep me motivated.  And I liked my reading goal I had a couple of months ago, so I think I’ll keep up on that one, too, especially since I’ve re-discovered just how cool our county library system is.  So my goals for November:

1) Walk a minimum of 2 hours a day.

2) Read at least a half an hour every day.

3) Keep my husband healthy and clean so he doesn’t get an infection from his surgery (a major worry of mine).

7 thoughts on “Thirty Day Challenges November Edition

  1. Can I just tell you how much I love this concept?

    And I won’t mention how I did on my goals…umm…anyway here are my goals for November:

    1. monitor calorie intake, and have any consecutive three days average at or below my goal
    2. Be in bed by 11:30 every work night

    More hugs for you and Micah, btw. How are the kids holding up?

    • Thanks for asking. Willow is having a really hard time. She’s cried the last couple of nights and wanted to sleep with me. She clung to me the first night. Needless to say, I didn’t get much sleep–not just because I was worried myself, but also because she wouldn’t let go! David is in Job Corps, and he knows about the surgery, but I don’t know how he’s handling it, since he’s so far away.

      Micah hasn’t wanted to see her just yet, since he’s still pretty groggy and he doesn’t want her to see him that way. However, now all the tubes are out except his primary IV’s and tomorrow we figure he’ll be alert and okay enough to handle her visit. I think it will be good for her to see that he’s okay and healing well.

      Great goals and good luck with them!!

  2. I think you’re brave for even setting these goals in the first place, and of course also for attempting to carry them out. I think it sounds like you did a great job! 🙂

    • Thanks! Some months I do really well, others not so much. This month I don’t think I’ve done so great, but I don’t beat myself up about it too badly. I can always try again next month. The point is to do the best I can when I can. Sometimes life gets in the way, and I’m okay with that.

Leave a Reply

