Update On My Husband’s Condition

My husband’s sexy chest. Note I fuzzed out the moob in order not to offend my more sensitive reader’s sensibilities. Is lidocain spelled with an ‘e’ at the end? Oh well.

I’ve been playing around with the Evernote application called Skitch.  I’m new to the whole Evernote thing, and am discovering a bunch of different applications for it.  I think it’s pretty neat so far.   I figured that my experimenting with it was a pretty darn good excuse to post a fun photo and give you a little update on the hubster’s condition.

If you’re new to my blog, you may not know what condition I’m updating.  So a quick rundown:  my husband, Micah, had open heart surgery on November 1st.  He had a double bypass.

He’s coming along really well.  As you can see from the photo, the scabs are almost all gone (and in fact, I think some of the scabs in the photo have since fallen off, since this photo is a few days old).  The incision scar is not all red and inflamed looking.  It looks nice and pink, the way it should.

His stamina is increasing, too.  He’s walking over a mile, with several rest stops along the way, but he keeps chugging along.  His chest muscles are still fairly sore in the greater range of motion type movements, and his doctor told him he should do some gentle stretching exercises.  That should help.

The painkillers are something Micah is slowly weaning himself from.  He doesn’t take one very often anymore, unless he overdid something and his chest is killing him.

Overall, he’s coming along nicely with his healing.  The only downside is that while he heals, he seems to be more susceptible to colds and whatnot, because he’s been sick quite a bit.  But I don’t doubt he will continue to heal up nicely and will be active and out there once again in no time!

I would like to thank all those who prayed for us and kept us in your thoughts and sent good energy our way.  It’s been much appreciated!

Now that he’s healing up so well, it’s time to come up with a cool story to go along with that wicked scar. I mean, if we’re ever out in public in a place where it is acceptable for him to have his shirt off, e.g. a pool, the beach, the river, trapped in an elevator with no air conditioning and it’s 100 degrees, etc., we would be missing out on a fun opportunity to share a really cool story if we just tell people, “Oh, that?  That’s from a double bypass.”  How boring is that?

I’m conducting a poll for potential explanations.

2 thoughts on “Update On My Husband’s Condition

Leave a Reply

