Thirty Day Challenge For January

your 30 day challenge

I’ll tell you mine. What’s yours?

In my post about my new year’s resolutions, I mentioned that I still intend to attempt 30 Day Challenges each month.  Last month, I used them as a framework for my overall goals and tried to use the challenges to help me fulfill the goals broken down into more palatable chunks.  I think since I was planning on doing those things anyway, it kind of felt like cheating to say those goals I was already working on were part of the challenges.

So this year, I decided that I still want to do the Challenges, but I will try not to use them for my goals and plans that I have already set out and scheduled for myself.  Instead, I will use them for little things that I’ve been meaning to do, but just haven’t gotten around to.  Or things that I know I want to work on, but just haven’t quite gotten the push to do it.

One of my new year’s resolutions was to get my teeth fixed.  I need a lot of dental work done, since I had some crowns done with a porcelain material that at the time was new and shiny and cool.  Turns out the porcelain wasn’t all that long lasting.  So I have some very expensive dental work coming my way.  Plus I have a tooth that broke (right in front, dangit, and it makes me feel all trailer trash and I hate it) that I haven’t been able to fix other than a temporary filling every now and then that keeps popping off after a few months.  Since I will be employed with bennies, I will finally have the means to get my dental problems addressed.

With that in mind, I would like to create better dental habits for myself.  I brush, but I’m embarrassed to admit that flossing for me has always been piecemeal (please don’t judge, I’m sure I’m not the only one).  It’s hard for me to remember and when I do remember, I don’t like to do it much.  It’s a pain in the butt.  However, I would like to keep my teeth a while longer, and if I’m going to spend oodles of cash on them this year, I want to be sure that I’m treating my mouth right.

Therefore, my 30 Day Challenge for January is to floss every day at least once a day.  Preferably twice.  But if I can at least remember once, that will be an improvement!

My dad will be doing a happy dance to hear this particular 30 Day Challenge.  He’s a dental hygienist by trade.  I love you, Dad.

4 thoughts on “Thirty Day Challenge For January

  1. No judging from here! I fell out of flossing entirely for a couple of months, to very, very negative results. I’m now about a week into flossing 1-2x daily and I’m already seeing significant improvement.

    I’m aiming for twice a day, but not sweating it if I only hit once a day.

  2. I’m also doing a challenge this January. I’m getting married in less than 6 months so my 30-day challenge to myself is to get back to logging on Calorie Count every day and doing P90X. Even though P90X is a 90-day thing, I think if I don’t stick with it the first 30 days, I’m doomed for the last 60! Good luck on your challenge! Remember if you are in pain from your dental work, a bag of frozen peas makes a nice, face-conforming pseudo “ice pack”! I took this advice from a friend years ago when I had my wisdom teeth removed.

    • You are so right. If you can’t commit for the first 30 days, what makes you think you will for the last? Get into the habit right away! It’s better in the long run.

      Thanks for the tip on the peas–we’ve used frozen vegetables in our own house from time to time. Fortunately, I don’t have any tooth pain, just broken crowns. I’ll be glad when it’s all fixed!

      Good luck on your challenges, too! (I’m on CalorieCount, as well! I’m Holly_at_home. I’ve been really sporadic with it, but it is a very cool tool. I want to use it regularly this year myself.)

Leave a Reply

