Where I’ve Been: Utah and the Moab Area (and Parts Further South), Part 2 of 3

Utah Hole in the Wall & Wilson Arch 245The rest area south of Moab on US 191 is breathtakingly beautiful, with all sorts of interesting rock formations, plus the green grass and trees.  The leaves on the trees aren’t really out yet, so you don’t get the full effect of just how green it gets once spring has entirely sprung.  Then it is super, super green!  I got creative and tried a few different filters for different effects, to see how it changed the photos.  So in some, you’ll see the photos have a pinkish or purplish tint, and in others, the pictures seem more green and yellow.  I can’t decide which I like better.  Eh…I think I like the one that brings out the green and yellow.  I think the colors are a little truer to what they were in nature.

By the way, at the top of the rock that says Hole In The Rock, with a giant arrow, has a little black speck on the top toward the right.  If you look carefully, you’ll see that it’s a Jeep.  How on Earth they got it up there, I’ve got no idea.  But it gives you an idea of the scale of the size of that cliff/rock.  As I mentioned yesterday, Hole In The Rock  is a man-made cave that was doubled as this guy’s home and also served as a cafe.  Now it’s just a museum, with all of his weird stuff inside.

Hope you like the following photos.  I sure enjoyed taking them!

Leave a Reply

