Where I’ve Been: Utah and the Moab Area (and Parts Further South), Part 3 of 3

Utah Hole in the Wall & Wilson Arch 321This part is going to be all about my little mini-adventure at Wilson Arch.  Wilson Arch is located on US 191, south of Moab.  Just about in between Moab and Monticello, UT.  It is what the name sounds like–a giant freaking rock arch.  From a distance, the opening looks like an eye.

My husband and I passed through here back in 2005, when we were trucking together.  I really, really wanted to climb it then, but I was in terrible shape, and I couldn’t get very far.  My heart was willing, but my body wasn’t.  Cut to 2013.  Hah!  I’m in a lot better shape, and my heart was still just as willing.

I swear, every time I see some neat geological feature, or hill or pile of rocks, or fun-looking tree, I feel I MUST climb them.  I think I am still just a kid at heart.  I love the adventure, I love to get out there and just enjoy myself, and for some reason, climbing and exploring the heck out of things gives me the greatest pleasure and satisfaction.  I indulged my inner child’s compulsion to climb to the top of the arch and I took a ton of fabulous photos in the process.

And then, because I managed to do this simple thing that I hadn’t been able to do before, and because it felt so good to be able to do it, it felt so gratifying and….I dunno what all else (an accomplishment?), but because it just made me so very damn happy, I cried.  It seems like such a simple thing, really.  Wilson Arch isn’t that high up and it isn’t too terribly difficult to climb, especially if you’re in shape.  But I did it.  And I couldn’t before.  And it was so beautiful up there.  When I came down finally, my spirit was still soaring up there in the air.  I had a smile on my face for the rest of the day, and whenever I thought of that arch, I got choked up.

So, with all that build-up, I hope you enjoy these photographs as much as I enjoyed taking them.  I think I used the pinkish filter, because I forgot to take it off from earlier.  I would have liked to just use the camera itself, since the arch was fantastically colored in and of itself.  But, oh well.  I got in a hurry, I was so excited to  be climbing the thing, and just forgot.

Oh, and in case you think it is a dumb idea to be galavanting around alone, when I could fall and kill myself while hiking, you are right.  Fortunately, there were several people there, and if I had fallen, there would have been many witnesses and somebody could have alerted the authorities.  If I had been alone, I’m not sure I would have attempted it, since there were some parts that were a little slippery and rocky and places where I could have easily broken an ankle, if I wasn’t careful.  I may have been indulging my inner child, but I didn’t over-indulge her.

Leave a Reply

